| What: This site is of high significance to Native Americans. "She Who Watches" (Tsagagalal=one of the
Indian stone gods) is one of about 100 pictographs in this area. Due to vandalism in 1992, access is limited to guided tours, Fri and
Sat mornings at 10AM (April-October). These are popular walking tours, so reservations are
definitely needed. Call the ranger listed below to reserve your date. The tours are not
too strenuous, and many elementary school groups take it each year. The tour meets at
the parking area closest to the river. Legend has it.
When Lewis and Clark arrived, there were 20
plank houses here for the permanent population. During salmon season, tribes met for fishing and trading from allover, and the population may have reached about 10,000. The terrain has been
changed radically by the dam, which filled in about 1957, and by the railroad. Until then, it
was only about 1/4 mile wide (instead of the present 1 mile width) and was a roaring
rapids, perfect for fishing. It was known as The Long Narrows.
Little is known about the pictographs at this site. The colors used
were white (from Mazama ash or talc), red (from iron oxide) and black (from charcoal).
These natural pigments were mixed with some animal or human substance (possibly salmon
eggs, fish oil, or human urine) to create pictographs.
One reason this site is so unique is that several different styles of
art are represented. Some are similar to the ones at
Gabriola Island and others are more typical of Plains Art.
There is a very well-kept campground here, and some of the
other activities are boating, camping, fishing, hiking, picnicking, rock climbing and windsurfing.
A lodging suggestion: Inn of the White Salmon